Author Spotlights by Jenny











{June 18, 2009}   AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT: ANNIE ALVAREZ

annieCheatingDeathJenny: Hi, Annie. Why don’t you introduce yourself and tell us a little about you.

Annie: Well, I live in Texas with my partner of 12 years and I write erotica, primarily gay erotica. I moved to Texas, from Fort Lauderdale and I was born in the Big Easy, New Orleans. Other than that, my life is an open book really. We have 2 dogs and 3 cats that rule the house. I can be found chasing down ideas and wrestling them onto paper. Jenny: What inspired you to write your first romance? Annie: My first published book is For The Love Of Blood: A Hightower Introduction and Cheating Death, book 2 of the series was recently released by Extasy Books. I wrote it because I kept reading books and asking myself, what if… the heroine is a ruthless vampire everyone could fall in love with. What if… the plot wasn’t so predictable. What if… and then I thought, what if, I write it myself and low and behold the characters jumped out of me and onto the computer screen. LOL

Jenny: What’s currently on your iPod/mp3 player/cd player?

Annie: Wow! Never thought about what I listen to. Okay, let’s see. Evanescence, who doesn’t have some of their stuff? Death Cab for Cutie, Metric, Pink, Shakira, Lady Gaga, Seether, Joan Osborn, and a new favorite of mine is Gabriella Cilmi

Jenny: Describe a typical (or non-typical) writing day?

Annie: It starts like all the rest, Have to have my coffee, I’m nonfunctional without it. LOL and I sit and let my characters come to life. Of course in the process, I have to pay attention to the cats, who demand my attention and play with the dogs a little bit, it’s all par for the course in my house!

Jenny: What’s the one question no one ever asks that you wish they would?

Annie: Oh my, that’s a loaded question! Really I don’t have one, so go ahead and ask me anything.

Jenny: What’s your favorite setting from one of your novels?

Annie: I would have to say the pearl scene with Tamara and Izzy. It shows a playful, loving yet devious side to the vampire Tamara, Master of the East Coast.

Jenny: What do you think makes the ideal heroine/hero?

Annie : Likeability! I mean, if you don’t like the heroine then why would you read the book?

Jenny: What are you working on at the moment?

Annie: I’m working on book 3 of the series, Dying to Live. It takes Izzy to a private Caribbean island then to New Orleans, she does a bit of traveling while trying to find Tamara – oops – I’ve said too much!

Jenny: Which comes first–the plot or the characters?

Annie: Both! Without a good plot, the characters won’t exist and vice-versa. You can’t have one without the other! LOL

Jenny: Any new releases coming up? Annie: Hopefully, I’ll get, Dying to Live, to my editor soon and we can all tag along with Izzy on her new adventure.

To see more of Annie, visit her at her website, www.anniealvarez.net


Leave a Reply

et cetera
